Eight Area Artists Receive Individual Artist Awards

The Central MN Arts Board is excited to announce the Individual Artist Award (IAA) recipients for 2023!

The Individual Artist Award provides awards in recognition and support of outstanding artists living in the Minnesota counties of Benton, Sherburne, Stearns or Wright (Region 7W). Funding for the program is generously provided by the McKnight Foundation.

Artists are invited to apply for this award once each year in January and may receive up to $5,000 in Individual Artist Awards in a lifetime. A panel of arts professionals reviewed and scored each application. Those with the highest average score were recommended to the CMAB Directors for awards. CMAB Directors accepted the review panel’s recommendations at their March 9, 2023, board meeting with a total of $21,500 in awards.

The 2023 Individual Artist Award recipients are:

1.  Marienne Kreitlow, Musical Theatre, playwright, lyricist, composer; Wright County
2.  Jean Matua, Visual art, Pysanky, batik-style wax-resist; Stearns County
3.  Patricia Riley, Visual art, fine arts, oil on linen; Wright County
4.  Kathryn Blommel, Visual art, graphite, charcoal; Sherburne County
5.  Nik Rymer, Visual art, mixed media; Sherburne County
6.  Matthew Coppersmith, Visual art, wood, metal & resin; Wright County
7.  Amy Coppersmith, Visual art, digital photography; Wright County
8.  Steven Lemke, Visual art, sculptor; Stearns County

JeanMatua_PysankaLobster, Leaks and Lemon oil on canvasGrandma and me Charcoal and GraphiteIntersections sculptureBipolar Oil on canvasOrange Dreamsicle DeskTesla's Mistress

To view samples of the winning artists’ work, visit the Central Minnesota Arts Board website at www.centralmnartsboard.org.

The 2023 Individual Artist Award panel reviewers were:

Board of Directors, Bopha Thomas: Fashion Designer; Bopha Sar sewing and alterations, owner; AA Fashion Design; experience in theater, costume design, instrumental music; Princeton Area of Commerce Board Member; Central Minnesota Arts Board Director.

Cezarija Abartis: M.A. and Ph.D. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale; St. Cloud State University Professor of English; Published Author

Sydney Kakuk: University of Minnesota BM Vocal Performance and BA Political Science; opera singer and classical vocalist, experience in theater, choir, orchestra; volunteered for Tri-County Animal Humane Society, St. Cloud Times Editorial Board, Quiet Oaks Hospice, Esperanza Ensemble

Craig Palm: Visual Artist, Sculptor, Hennepin Tech for Graphic Arts; Art Masters Academy Apprenticeship and taught 30 years of Oil painting, mural work, air brush, and sculptural experience; volunteered at Elk River High Art Dept, Evansville Art Association.

Mike Odden: Visual Artist, Visual Art High School Teacher, retired; past Central Minnesota Arts Board of directors and chair; Holdingford Fine Arts Booster Club, Member of Resurrected Artists Theatre group, Member Petals to Pedals Garden Club

Rebecca Froehlich: Textile Art Center, Instructor, Member of Art to Change the World; AmeriCorps VISTA, Development & Communications Associate, Development & Communications Specialist, Development & Communications Manager; Arts in Health Practitioner with Creative Care LLC; Artist in Healthcare at Sanford Canby; Former Young Professionals Board Member: Cornerstone Advocacy Services; Current Board Member: Friends of Roberts Bird Sanctuary; Former grant reviewer for: Minnesota State Arts Board, Youthprise, Synergy & Leadership Exchange

Mary Joyce: Visual Artist, Member Kanabec County Art Association, The Wyoming Area Creative Arts Community, Hallberg Center for the Arts, Wyoming, MN

The Central Minnesota Arts Board (CMAB) strives to enhance appreciation of the essential economic and social roles the arts play in Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright counties by providing grants and professional development services to arts and community organizations, schools, government units and individuals.