Five Area Artists Receive Individual Artist Awards

The Central MN Arts Board is excited to announce the Individual Artist Award (IAA) recipients for 2020!

The Individual Artist Award provides awards of $5,000 each in recognition and support of outstanding artists living in the Minnesota counties of Benton, Sherburne, Stearns or Wright (Region 7W). Funding for the program is generously provided by the McKnight Foundation.

Artists are invited to apply for this award once each year in January. A panel of six arts professionals reviewed and scored each application. Those with the highest average score were recommended to the CMAB Directors for awards. At their March 12, 2020 board meeting, the CMAB Directors accepted the review panel’s recommendations.

Fiscal Year 2020 Individual Artist Award recipients are:
Jocelyn Hagen, Music Composition – Sherburne County
D. Helene Woods, Visual Artist/Painting – Wright County
Tanya Allen, Visual Artist/Mixed Media Sculptor ¬– Stearns County
J. Vincent Hansen, Literary Artist – Benton County
Sarah Flicek, Visual Artist/Silversmith – Wright County

To view samples of the winning artists’ work, visit the Central Minnesota Arts Board website at

The 2020 Individual Artist Award Panelists volunteered an average of 20 hours reviewing applications. Reviewers included:

Jo McMullen-Boyer – CMAB Director, Station Manager of KVSC Radio at St. Cloud State University. Grant writer, small and large music concert producer and community events organizer. Patron of the arts personally and in giving access and promotion to arts and arts producers through college and community radio. Member of the Stearns History Museum spring History Makers celebration, marketing committee

Kenn Barry – CMAB Director; Blues Musician; Victorian photographer proficient in Digital imaging, Platinum/Palladium printing, Wet Plate Collodion process, Bromoil printing, and Cyanotype printing; BS of Science Mathematics and BS Computer Science, University of Wisconsin; Certified Nuclear Engineer, U.S. Navy; MBA Saint Mary’s College of California.

Ross Harris – Carpenter for Great River Educational Arts Theatre; actor; theatre crew volunteer; Centra Care Foundation volunteer.

David DeBlieck – College of St Benedict/St John’s University; Dance Professor & Choreographer; 2015-present Paramount Center for the Arts; Teaching Artist; 2010-present St Cloud Arts Commission; Commissioner; 2007 – present Wicked Sister Dance Theater; Artistic Director; 2003 – 2014

Monica Segura-Schwartz – Social Service worker; Vice Chair, Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs; Great River Children’s Museum board secretary; Great Theater Board of directors – currently in my third 3-year term; Paramount Outreach Educational committee 2015 to 2016; School Board member for District 742

Wes Charles Hanvy – Doctor of veterinary medicine and published author, lifelong hobby woodworker and art enthusiast; 2010 CMAB Individual Artist Award recipient; FY16 CMAB Emerging Artist Award recipient

The Central Minnesota Arts Board supports collaborative and innovative arts opportunities through partnerships and financial investments in Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright counties as one of eleven Regional Arts Councils designated by the Minnesota State Arts Board working with community partners to increase access to the unique cultural assets of Minnesota.