Seven Area Artists Receive Individual Artist Awards

Individual Artist Awards Congratulations

The Central MN Arts Board is excited to announce the Individual Artist Award (IAA) recipients for 2019!

The Individual Artist Award provides up to seven (7) awards of $3,500 each as recognition and support for outstanding artists living in the Minnesota counties of Benton, Sherburne, Stearns or Wright (Region 7W). Funding for the program is generously provided by The McKnight Foundation.

Artists are invited to apply for this award once each year in January. A panel of six arts professionals reviewed and scored each application individually. Applications with the highest average score were recommended to the CMAB Directors for awards. At their March 15, 2019 board meeting, the CMAB Directors accepted the review panel’s recommendations.
Fiscal Year 2019 Individual Artist Award recipients are:

Fiscal Year 2019 Individual Artist Award recipients are:

  • Glenn Quist, Visual Artist/Painting – Sherburne County
  • Dan Mondloch, Visual Artist/Watercolor – Stearns County
  • Craig Palm, Visual Artist/Sculpture – Sherburne County
  • JD Jorgenson, Visual Artist/Wood-fired Ceramics – Stearns County
  • Barb Kellogg, Visual Artist/Photography – Stearns County
  • Charles Norwood, Visual Artist/Photography – Stearns County
  • Timothy Takach, Music Composer – Sherburne County
After the FoxSeason's EndMetal ElkWood Fire clay sculpture of bolt nutsGo Gently Into the NightMountain pass

The 2019 Individual Artist Award Panelists volunteered an average of 20 hours reviewing applications. Those volunteers included:

Jo McMullen-Boyer – CMAB Director, Station Manager of KVSC Radio at St. Cloud State University. Grant writer, small and large music concert producer and community events organizer. Patron of the arts personally and in giving access and promotion to arts and arts producers through college and community radio.

Denise Todd – CMAB Director, B.S, Business Administration with a Minor, Dance Valdosta State University; U.S. Air Force Veteran, Geospatial Intelligence Analyst; undergraduate at St. Cloud State University pursuing a Major in Community Health, Planning and Community Development and a Minor, Ethnics, Human Relations.

Donna Rice- Glass casting artist, BFA from Carnegie Mellon University; 2017 Artist Initiative recipient, CMAB FY15 Individual Artist Awardee and grant recipient, which helped to support her glass casting studio in Delano. In the spring of 2020, Rice’s crystal sculptures will be featured at the Minnesota Arboretum Spring Flower Show.

Susan Dean- Mosaics artist involved in arts crawls, classes, exhibits, juried art shows and CMAB FY17 Individual Artist Awardee and grant recipient; Member of the board of Central Minnesota Arts Council and was involved in the transition to VAM (Visual Art Minnesota); Involved in brain storming/ marketing committees for the Paramount. Owner of Newcomer Service that includes an Art’s Directory to introduce new movers to the arts & culture in our community. Arts appreciator and supporter with a goal for our community engage local artists with each other in an effort to work together in supporting the arts.

Natalie Carr- Bachelor of Fine Arts with an emphasis in dance, University of Minnesota; dances with Black Label Movement modern dance company. Teaching artist at the Boys and Girls Club of Central MN, designs a rich dance program for ages 10 and up with additional programming for youth age 5-9 teaching youth hip hop, modern, jazz, tap, ballet, lyrical and some tumbling.

Lester Hoikka- Multi-media metal sculptor with a strong nod to construction techniques of tin toys from the mid 20th century colored in patterns and bright colors that embrace ideas that inhabit an area between touching and humorous but always a little bit strange; Bachelor of Fine Arts, University of Minnesota; Hoikka has won awards in International, National and Minnesota exhibits as well as CMAB FY08 and FY18 Individual Artist Awards.

The Central Minnesota Arts Board supports collaborative and innovative arts opportunities through partnerships and financial investments in Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright counties as one of eleven Regional Arts Councils designated by the Minnesota State Arts Board working with community partners to increase access to the unique cultural assets of Minnesota.